Boards and Commissions

To view the calendar of all City Council, Boards and Commission meetings, click here.

City Council

The citizens of Ridgefield adopted the council-manager plan of government in 1999. Under this form of government, the elected officials are the community leaders and policy makers who establish a vision for the city and then appoint a city manager to carry out public policy and ensure that all residents are being well served. The council-manager form of local government combines the strong political leadership of elected officials with the strong professional experience of an appointed local government manager.

The citizens of Ridgefield adopted the council-manager plan of government in 1999. Under this form of government, the elected officials are the community leaders and policy makers who establish a vision for the city and then appoint a city manager to carry out public policy and ensure that all residents are being well served. The council-manager form of local government combines the strong political leadership of elected officials with the strong professional experience of an appointed local government manager.

The City Council consists of seven members who are elected by the citizens of Ridgefield on a non-partisan basis for four-year terms. Elections are arranged so that three or four terms expire every two years. Council members have the responsibility of establishing policy to govern the City, adopting a budget for city revenues and expenditures, and performing all other actions necessary to govern the City, including the passage of ordinances and resolutions.

The Council is led by the Mayor, who is appointed biennially by the members of the Council. The Mayor serves as the chief spokesperson and head of the City government for public and ceremonial purposes. He presides at all Council meetings, votes as a Council member and does not have any veto power. He/she may sign legal instruments and documents on behalf of the City. He has no full-time administrative duties.

In April 2014, Council established an independent Salary Commission composed of five members to set the salary of the mayor and council members. Details about the Commission are in the Ridgefield Municipal Code, Chapter 2.62.

Access Meeting Minutes and Agenda here.  If you would like to access past years minutes and agenda’s and cannot access them online please fill out a Public Records Request Form.

Contact the Council:

Mayor Ron Onslow: ron.onslow@ci.ridgefield.wa.us
Councilor David Taylor: david.taylor@ci.ridgefield.wa.us
Councilor Lee Wells: lee.wells@ci.ridgefield.wa.us
Councilor Don Stose: don.stose@ci.ridgefield.wa.us
Councilor Darren Wertz: darren.wertz@ci.ridgefield.wa.us
Councilor John Main: john.main@ci.ridgefield.wa.us
Councilor Sandra Day: sandra.day@ci.ridgefield.wa.us


Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is comprised of seven volunteer citizens who advise the City Council on planning, development, and growth issues for the community. The Commission reviews and makes recommendations to the City Council on updates to the City’s Comprehensive Plan and Capital Facilities Plans, Development Code regulations, shoreline management regulations, environmental protection regulations, general developmental policy, and other matters as directed by the City Council. The Commission does not conduct quasi-judicial hearings on land use applications; the City uses a Hearing Examiner to review such proposals.

Contact the Board:

Commissioner Paul Young: paul.young@ci.ridgefield.wa.us
Commissioner Jerry Bush: jerry.bush@ci.ridgefield.wa.us
Commissioner Jennifer Lindsay: jennifer.lindsay@ci.ridgefield.wa.us
Commissioner Whitney Jones: whitney.jones@ci.ridgefield.wa.us
Chair Jason Carnell: jason.carnell@ci.ridgefield.wa.us
Commissioner Victoria Haugen: victoria.haugen@ci.ridgefield.wa.us
Commissioner Stan Okinaka: stan.okinaka@ci.ridgefield.wa.us

Current Planning Commissioners

Position #1:  Paul Young – Term Expires December 31, 2018
Position #2:  Jerry Bush – Term Expires December 31, 2017
Position #3:  Jennifer Lindsay – Term Expires December 31, 2017
Position #4:  Whitney Jones- Term Expires December 31, 2020
Position #5:  Jason Carnell – Term Expires December 31, 2020
Position #6:  Victoria Haugen – Term Expires December 31, 2018
Position #7:   Stan Okinaka – Term Expires December 31, 2019

Location
Ridgefield Community Center
210 N Main Ave Ridgefield, WA 98642

Time and Date
Meetings are held at 6:30 pm on the first Wednesday of every month.

Meeting Information
If you have questions about Planning Commission please contact Staff support.

Citizens are encouraged to attend and participate in the Planning Commission meetings. This public’s participation in planning issues is vital and plays an important role in shaping the Commission’s recommendations. Every meeting includes an opportunity for citizens to bring issues to the Commission’s attention, during the Citizen Communications portion of the meeting.

Access Meeting Minutes and Agenda here.  If you would like to access past years minutes and agenda’s and cannot access them online please fill out a Public Records Request Form.

Supporting Documents
Planning Commission Application
2016 Comprehensive Plan


Civil Service Commission

The Civil Service Commission is comprised of three volunteer citizens who preside over the manner in which police officer candidate examinations are held as well as how appointments and promotions are made. The Commission is also responsible for hearing complaints, conducting investigations and hearings, and determining appeals regarding police officers and other matters connected with personnel administration of the Police Department. Commissioners must be citizens of the United States, must have been residents of the City of Ridgefield for at least three years, and must be eligible to vote in Clark County.

Civil Service Commission meetings are held at 6:30 p.m. on the second Tuesday of each month. Meetings are held at Ridgefield City Hall located at 230 Pioneer Street and are open to the public.

The following citizens currently serve on the Civil Service Commission:
Position #1:  David Standal             (Term Expires May 11, 2019)
Position #2:  Richard (Mike) Jones (Term Expires May 11, 2019)
Position #3:  Paula Oatley               (Term Expires May 11, 2017)


Parks Board

The Parks Board is comprised of seven volunteer citizens who advise the City Council on parks planning, parks acquisition, operations, and maintenance within the current and future city limits of Ridgefield. Eligible members include residents, property owners and business owners within the urban growth area of the City, as well as citizens residing within the boundaries of the Ridgefield School District.

Parks Board meetings are held at 6:30 p.m. on the second Wednesday of each month at the Ridgefield Community Center located at 210 N Main Avenue. The public is welcome and encouraged to attend and participate in the Parks Advisory Board meetings.

Access Meeting Minutes and Agenda here.  If you would like to access past years minutes and agenda’s and cannot access them online please fill out a Public Records Request Form.

Contact the Board:

Board Chair Marie Bouvier: marie.bouvier@ci.ridgefield.wa.us
Board Member  Thomas Ball: thomas.ball@ci.ridgefield.wa.us
Board Member Beth Putnam: beth.putnam@ci.ridgefield.wa.us
Board Member Kimberly Stenbak:  kimberly.stenbak@ci.ridgefield.wa.us
Board Member Rachelle Simmons:  rachelle.simmons@ci.ridgefield.wa.us
Board Member Darrin Class:  darrin.class@ci.ridgefield.wa.us
Board Member Beth Wills:  beth.wills@ci.ridgefield.wa.us

The following citizens currently serve on the Parks Board:
Position #1:  Marie Bouvier (Term Expires December 31, 2018)
Position #2:  Thomas Ball (Term Expires December 31, 2017)
Position #3:  Beth Putnam (Term Expires December 31, 2017)
Position #4:  Kimberly Stenbak (Term Expires December 31, 2018)
Position #5:  Rachelle Simmons (Term Expires December 31, 2018)
Position #6:  Darrin Class (Term Expires December 31, 2019)
Position #7:  Beth Wills (Term Expires December 31, 2017)

Supporting Documents
2017 Work Plan Ridgefield Parks Board


Salary Commission

The Ridgefield Salary Commission was created on April 24, 2014, as a five-member independent body with the authority to set the salary of the members of the Council. An independent salary commission studies the relationship of the Ridgefield City Council members’ duties and salaries to Council members in comparable City jurisdictions and fixes salaries based on that comparison as well as the City’s budget and other market conditions.

The following individuals currently serve on the Salary Commission:
David Kelly, Chair – Position 1 – term expires 12/31/2018
Terry Hurd – Position 2 – term expires 12/31/2018
Gary Adkins – Position 3 – term expires 12/31/2017
Clyde Burkle – Position 4 – term expires 12/31/2017
Victoria Haugen – Position 5 – term expires 12/31/2016

The Commission meets as often as necessary each year, with a first meeting no later than March 31 and actively solicits public comment for consideration when making a salary determination. The Commission files a salary schedule with the city clerk on or before May 31 which is published in the same manner as a city ordinance. The salary schedule is then incorporated into the city budget without further action of the city council.